PAL Airlines
EN   | FR

COVID-19 Update

April 7, 2020

Please be advised that, under order of the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador and from the Government of Quebec, all passengers travelling on commercial flights must be either considered essential, travelling home or travelling for essential medical purposes. If passengers do not meet this criteria, they will be denied boarding on PAL Airlines.

Also, in addition to the existing prohibition against passengers connecting to our flights from outside Canada, PAL Airlines will also no longer allow boarding for passengers connecting onto our aircraft from other Canadian Provinces. Passengers to whom this circumstance applies are encouraged to immediately find suitable arrangements that will allow for the completion of the recommended 14-day self-isolation.

For additional information with regards to the conditions under which travel on PAL Airlines is allowed, please call our Reservations and Customer Care team at 1-800-563-2800.

 


   

March 17, 2020

Over the course of the last several weeks, PAL Airlines has been closely monitoring the ongoing global and domestic effects of the COVID-19 virus. From the beginning, our approach has been founded on a commitment to quickly implement appropriate measures to safeguard our employees while promoting illness prevention and preserving community health in the destinations we serve.

In that spirit, PAL Airlines moved quickly to implement additional sanitation procedures for our aircraft and public areas to ensure they meet or exceed all guidelines provided by PHAC. Surfaces such as airport check-in counters, aircraft seats, tray tables, armrests and lavatories are being regularly and thoroughly wiped down and treated with a high-grade disinfectant similar to those used in health care facilities. In addition, we are now regularly fogging our aircraft overnight with a product that adheres to all surfaces and provides disinfectant protection for a 10-day period.

Onboard our aircraft and at our check-in counters, PAL Airlines continues to maintain supplies of hand sanitizers and disinfectant wipes. We have also continued to modify our inflight service offerings, most recently restricting our commissary service further to limit on-board interactions.

Effective today, we are increasing our illness prevention efforts to now include a short pre-board questionnaire related to COVID-19 that passengers will be required to complete before getting on our aircraft. This questionnaire is an important assessment tool of the passenger’s health relative to Covid-19 symptoms and overall fitness to travel.

Also, effective today, PAL Airlines will no longer be accepting passengers returning from abroad seeking to connect directly onto our domestic network until the affected individuals have completed their 14-day period of self-isolation. We agree with and will abide by the Government of Canada’s recommendation that all Canadians currently returning from any travel abroad should self-isolate immediately on return to Canada.

If a passenger returning to Canada who has travelled internationally in the previous 14 days presents themselves at a PAL Airlines flight, they will be denied boarding and encouraged to immediately find suitable arrangements that will allow for the completion of the recommended 14-day self-isolation.

We encourage any passenger affected by this policy to immediately contact our reservations department at which point PAL Airlines will either rebook them for onward travel at such time as they have completed the recommended self-isolation or offer them a full refund on their purchased fare.

PAL Airlines appreciates that these new measures may inconvenience some of our customers. We do, however, feel strongly that disregarding the Government of Canada’s advice in this instance would create an undue risk of exposure to COVID-19 for our passengers, our crew and the communities we serve.

PAL Airlines also continues to appreciate that your travel plans may be affected by COVID-19. As such, for tickets purchased before March 4, 2020, for travel before April 30, 2020, PAL Airlines is allowing a one-time change to your reservation without incurring a change fee up to 24 hours before your departing flight.

As the circumstances regarding the COVID-19 virus and its public health implications evolve, PAL Airlines will review all of our policies on a continuing basis. We remain committed to doing all we can to provide the safest transportation possible in all aspects of our operation. PAL Airlines appreciates your patience, understanding and loyalty at this time.

 

COVID-19 Update - PAL Airlines Statement - March 17, 2020

PAL Airlines
EN   | FR

COVID-19 Mise à jour

7 avril 2020

Veuillez être informé que par décret des gouvernements du Québec et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, tous les passagers voyageant sur des vols commerciaux doivent être considérés comme essentiels, voyager pour retourner à la maison ou voyager pour des raisons médicales essentielles. Les voyageurs ne remplissant pas au moins  l’un de ces critères se verront refuser l’embarquement à bord de PAL Airlines.

En plus des interdictions déjà existantes concernant les passagers en provenance de l’extérieur du Canada, PAL Airlines ne permettra plus aux voyageurs en provenance des autres provinces canadiennes de transiter avec nous. Les passagers touchés par ces nouvelles mesures sont invités à prendre les arrangements nécessaires pour compléter la période de 14 jours d’isolation obligatoire avant de pouvoir voyager.

Pour plus d’informations concernant les conditions nécessaires afin de voyager avec PAL Airlines, veuillez communiquer avec notre centre des réservations et du service à la clientèle au 1-800-563-2800.

 


   

17 mars 2020

Au cours des dernières semaines, nous avons tous surveillé les événements mondiaux et les effets du virus COVID-19 dans notre pays. Depuis le début, notre approche est basée sur notre engagement à choisir et à instaurer rapidement les meilleures mesures pour assurer la sécurité de nos employés tout en faisant la promotion de mesures préventives et de santé publique dans les destinations que nous desservons.

Dans cet esprit, PAL Airlines a rapidement changé ses procédures pour ajouter des mesures d’hygiène dans ses appareils et dans les endroits publics. Ces mesures rencontrent ou excèdent les directives de l’ASPC. Les surfaces comme les comptoirs d’enregistrement des aéroports, les sièges, les accoudoirs et les salles de bain sont régulièrement et consciencieusement nettoyées et traitées avec des nettoyants de qualité similaires à ceux utilisés dans les édifices de santé. De plus, pendant la nuit, nous utilisons un processus de fumigation pour étendre un produit qui adhère à toutes les surfaces et qui offre un effet désinfectant pouvant durer jusqu’à 10 jours.

Que ce soit à bord de ses aéronefs ou à ses comptoirs d’enregistrement, PAL Airlines continue de maintenir un inventaire de nettoyant pour les mains et de serviettes désinfectantes. Nous continuons aussi de modifier nos services en vol et avons fait des changements au service de collations et de rafraîchissement en vol pour limiter la dissémination du virus.

À partir d’aujourd’hui, nous augmentons notre niveau d’effort en prévention en incluant un court questionnaire sur le COVID-19 que les passagers devront remplir avant l’embarquement. Ce questionnaire est un outil important pour évaluer la santé de nos passagers relativement aux symptômes du COVID-19 et améliorant l’expérience de voyage pour tous.

Aussi, à partir d’aujourd’hui, PAL Airlines n’acceptera aucun passager retournant d’un voyage à l’étranger sur son réseau jusqu’à ce qu’il ou qu'elle n’ait complété un isolement de 14 jours. Nous approuvons et nous nous conformons aux recommandations du Gouvernement du Canada qui stipule que tous les Canadiens revenant d’un voyage à l’étranger doivent s’isoler dès leur retour au pays.

Si un passager ayant voyagé à l’étranger dans les 14 jours précédents son vol avec PAL Airlines se présente à notre comptoir, l’accès à notre avion lui sera interdit et il lui sera demandé de prendre les mesures requises afin de compléter la période d’isolement de 14 jours.

Nous demandons à tous les passagers affectés par cette politique de contacter immédiatement notre centre des réservations qui pourra proposer de changer la réservation à une date ultérieure à la période d’isolement recommandé ou pourra offrir un remboursement complet de leur billet.

PAL Airlines comprend que ces nouvelles mesures puissent causer bien des désagréments à certains de nos clients. Ceci dit, nous croyons que d’ignorer les recommandations du Gouvernement du Canada pourrait avoir des effets négatifs et augmenter les risques d’exposition et de dissémination du COVID-19 à nos passagers, nos équipages et dans les communautés que nous desservons.

PAL Airlines se fait aussi un devoir d’alléger l’impact du COVID-19. À cette fin, pour tout billet acheté avant le 4 mars 2020 pour des déplacements après le 30 avril 2020, PAL Airlines permet de faire un changement unique à votre réservation sans pénalité jusqu’à 24 heures avant le départ de votre vol.

Alors que la situation en rapport avec le COVID-19 et ses implications sur la santé publique continue d’évoluer, nous mettons à jour nos politiques sur une base régulière. Nous continuons d’offrir le transport le plus sécuritaire possible dans tous les aspects de nos opérations. PAL Airlines apprécie votre patience, votre compréhension et votre loyauté dans ces temps difficiles.

 

COVID-19 Update - PAL Airlines Statement - March 17, 2020